2011-12 North Carolina Men's Basketball Yearbook

2011-12 North Carolina Basketball Yearbook

Issue link: http://catalog.e-digitaleditions.com/i/43408

Contents of this Issue


Page 3 of 211

Carolina Basketball 2011-12 CAROLINA BASKETBALL BY THE NUMBERS The 2009 Tar Heels are one of five UNC teams to win the NCAA Tournament. NCAA Tournament No. 1 Seeds Carolina has been a number one seed in the NCAA 13 Tournament 13 times, more than any school in NCAA history (Duke is second with 12). UNC's 13 No. 1 seeds have come in 1979, 1982, 1984, 1987, 1991, 1993, 1994, 1997, 1998, 2005, 2007, 2008 and 2009. Carolina has won NCAA titles as a No. 1 seed in 1982, 1993, 2005 and 2009 and also reached the Final Four as a top seed in 1991, 1997, 1998 and 2008. Carolina has been a No. 1 seed four times in eight years under head coach Roy Williams (2005, 2007, 2008 and 2009) and 10 times in the last 21 seasons. Williams has earned nine No. 1 seeds in 23 seasons as a head coach, second-most in NCAA history. ACC Players of the Year 13 Twelve Tar Heels have been named ACC Player of the Year 13 times, including Larry Miller, who won the award in 1967 and 1968. Other Tar Heel recipients include Lennie Rosenbluth (1957), Pete Brennan (1958), Lee Shaffer (1960), Billy Cunningham (1965), Mitch Kupchak (1976), Phil Ford (1978), Michael Jordan (1984), Antawn Jamison (1998), Joseph Forte (2001), Tyler Hansbrough (2008) and Ty Lawson (2009). When Hansbrough and Lawson started against LSU in the second round of the 2009 NCAA Tournament, it marked the first time in ACC history that two active ACC Players of the Year were on the court at the same time. ACC All-Freshman Players 16 2 Harrison Barnes and Kendall Marshall were ACC All-Freshman Team selections in 2010-11. They are the 15th and 16th Tar Heels named to the squad since its inception in 1992-93. ACC Championships 17 Tournament Carolina has won 17 Atlantic Coast Conference championships and played in the championship game a record-tying 30 times. Dean Smith won 13 Tournament titles, tying Duke's Mike Krzyzewski for most in history. Smith's teams were 58-23 and played in the championship game 21 times. Final Fours 18 Carolina has played in 18 Final Fours, more than any school in the nation. The Tar Heels played in the Final Four in 1946, 1957, 1967, 1968, 1969, 1972, 1977, 1981, 1982, 1991, 1993, 1995, 1997, 1998, 2000, 2005, 2008 and 2009. The Tar Heels won the NCAA title in 1957, 1982, 1993, 2005 and 2009. Carolina is the only school to play in the Final Four in seven consecutive decades (1940s through 2000s). Rusty Clark (1967-69), Bill Bunting (1967-69) and Ed Cota (1997-98, 2000) started in three different Final Fours. Carolina holds the NCAA record for most players who have played in a Final Four with 155. Seasons Ranked No. 1 Carolina has been ranked No. 1 in the nation in the Associated Press poll in 18 different seasons since the AP began its rankings in 1948-49. Those seasons include 1957, 1958, 1959, 1978, 1982, 1983, 1984, 1986, 1987, 1988, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1998, 2001, 2007, 2008 and 2009. The Tar Heels have been No. 1 on 105 occasions. 18 Carolina is third nationally in weeks ranked No. 1 in the country. Carolina has been ranked in the Top 10 in 602 polls. That is the second-highest figure in NCAA basketball history. Carolina has appeared in the AP poll 783 times, more than any other school in history. Carolina is the only school in the country with 12 wins over the No. 1 ranked team in the AP poll, including most recently a victory at Duke in 2006. Roy Williams is one of nine UNC members of the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame. winning their Regular Season ACC Titles The Tar Heels went 14-2 in ACC play in 2011, 28th 28 regular-season Atlantic Coast Conference championship. UNC has won 18 regular- season championships outright, shared 10 others and won 17 ACC Tournament titles. Carolina's 28 regular-season titles are eight more than Duke and four more than the other 10 ACC teams combined. First-Team All-Americas 34 Forty-nine Tar Heels have earned All-America honors, including 34 first-team honorees. The most recent first-team selections are Tyler Hansbrough in 2005-06, 2006-07, 2007-08 and 2008-09, and Ty Lawson in 2008-09. Hansbrough was the first player in ACC history to earn first-team All-America honors in each of his four seasons. Jack Cobb (1924-26), Phil Ford (1976-78), Mike O'Koren (1978-80) and Sam Perkins (1982-84) earned first-team All-America honors on three occasions. Hansbrough, Ford, O'Koren, Perkins, NC State's David Thompson and Virginia's Ralph Sampson are the only players in ACC history to earn first-team All- America honors at least three times. Sixteen Tar Heels have earned consensus first- team All-America honors a total of 25 times, which is second in NCAA history. They include Cartwright Carmichael (1923 and 1924), Jack Cobb (1924, 1925 and 1926), George Glamack (1940 and 1941), Lennie Rosenbluth (1957), Larry Miller (1968), Robert McAdoo (1972), Ford (1977 and 1978), James Worthy (1982), Michael Jordan (1983 and 1984), Perkins (1983 and 1984), Kenny Smith (1987), J.R. Reid (1988), Jerry Stackhouse (1995), Antawn Jamison (1998), Joseph Forte (2001) and Tyler Hansbrough (2007, 2008 and 2009). Jeffrey Camarati Getty Images

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of 2011-12 North Carolina Men's Basketball Yearbook - 2011-12 North Carolina Basketball Yearbook