Wisconsin Athletics Annual Report

2012-13 Wisconsin Athletics Annual Report

Wisconsin Athletics Annual Report

Issue link: https://catalog.e-digitaleditions.com/i/154647

Contents of this Issue


Page 15 of 83

Completed Facility Projects LaBahn Arena Named in honor of lead donors Charles (Wisconsin '49) and Mary Ann LaBahn, LaBahn Arena opened on Oct. 19, 2012. This $27.9 million hockey and swimming training and competition facility has greatly benefited Badger student-athletes and fans. Thanks to the impact of generous donor support, the completion of LaBahn Arena has had an immediate impact on Wisconsin Athletics. In 2012-13, teams primarily using LaBahn Arena achieved the following success: • Men's hockey won the WCHA Final Five title for the first time since 1998. • Four current women's hockey members won gold at the 2013 IIHF Women's World Championships and five Badgers were named to the U.S. National Team. • Swimmer Ivy Martin earned NCAA AllAmerica honors, first-team All-Big Ten honors, and the Madison Sports Hall of Fame Sportswoman of the Year Award as a sophomore. Martin helped the women's swimming team place 15th at the NCAA Championships. • UW's first NCAA individual swimming champion in 54 years, Drew teDuits, won the 200-yard backstroke and led Wisconsin to its fifth-best finish in school history at the national championships, placing 13th. Peter O. Johnson Rink inside LaBahn Arena

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of Wisconsin Athletics Annual Report - 2012-13 Wisconsin Athletics Annual Report