2011-12 North Carolina Men's Basketball Yearbook

2011-12 North Carolina Basketball Yearbook

Issue link: http://catalog.e-digitaleditions.com/i/43408

Contents of this Issue


Page 2 of 211

Carolina Basketball 2011-12 CAROLINA BASKETBALL BY THE NUMBERS Hall of Famer and four-time National Coach of the Year Dean Smith Rank, Most Players to Appear in NCAA Final Four 1 In North Carolina's 18 Final Four appearances, 154 Tar Heel players have played in at least one Final Four game, more than any school in the nation. Of NBA's 50 Greatest Players In 3 the late 1990s, the NBA selected its All- Time 50 Greatest Players. Former Tar Heels Billy Cunningham, Michael Jordan and James Worthy were named to the team. Carolina, Houston and LSU were the only schools to have three players listed. Final Four MOPs 4 Wayne Ellington scored 19 points, 17 in the decisive opening half, to lead UNC past Michigan State and earn Most Outstanding Player honors at the 2009 Final Four. Ellington is the fourth Tar Heel to win the award, along with James Worthy in 1982 (28 points vs. Georgetown), Donald Williams in 1993 (25 points in semifinals vs. Kansas and 25 points vs. Michigan in championship) and Sean May in 2005 (26 points and 10 rebounds vs. Illinois in championship). Ellington set the Final Four record for highest three- point percentage in the Final Four. Ellington made 8 of 10 three-pointers (.800) and broke Donald Williams' record (10 of 14, .714) set in 1993. National Championships 6 Carolina has won six national championships, including five NCAA Tournament titles and the 1924 Helms Foundation national championship. The Tar Heels won the NCAA Tournament in 1957, 1982, 1993, 2005 and 2009. Tyler Zeller won the 2011 Skip Prosser Award as the ACC's top basketball scholar- athlete and is one of 11 first-team Academic All-America Tar Heels. in No. 1 vs. No. 2 Games 7-0 Carolina has played in seven games involving the top two ranked teams in the country in the Associated Press poll and the Tar Heels are 7-0 in those games (4-0 as No. 1 and 3-0 as No. 2). A list of those games: March 23, 1957 – No. 1 UNC 54, No. 2 Kansas 53 Dec. 26, 1981 – No. 1 UNC 82, No. 2 Kentucky 69 Jan. 9, 1982 – No. 1 UNC 65, No. 2 Virginia 60 Feb. 4, 1986 – No. 1 UNC 78, No. 2 Ga. Tech 77 Feb. 3, 1994 – No. 2 UNC 89, No. 1 Duke 78 Feb. 5, 1998 – No. 2 UNC 97, No. 1 Duke 73 Apr. 4, 2005 – No. 2 UNC 75, No. 1 Illinois 70 ACC Rookies of the Year 9 Nine Carolina players have been named ACC Rookie of the Year, including Sam Perkins (1981), Michael Jordan (1982), J.R. Reid (1987), Ed Cota (1997), Joseph Forte (2000), Marvin Williams (2005), Tyler Hansbrough (2006), Brandan Wright (2007) and Harrison Barnes (2011). Twenty-seven Tar Heels have started their first game, the most recent being Barnes against Lipscomb on Nov. 12, 2010. Naismith Hall of Famers 9 Nine Tar Heel coaches and players are members of the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame, including 2009 inductee Michael Jordan and Carolina head coach Roy Williams, who was inducted in 2007. Larry Brown, Ben Carnevale (coach), Billy Cunningham (player/coach), Jordan, Robert McAdoo, Frank McGuire (coach), Dean Smith (coach), Williams (coach) and James Worthy are Carolina's Hall of Famers. National Coaches of the Year Carolina head coaches have won national coach of the year honors 10 times, including Frank McGuire (1957), Dean Smith (1977, 1979, 1982 and 1993), Bill Guthridge (1998), Matt Doherty (2001) and Roy Williams (2005, 2006 and 2009). 10 First-Team 11 Academic All-Americas Tar Heel players have earned first-team Academic All-America honors 11 times, most recently by Tyler Zeller in 2011. The list of 11 includes Billy Cunningham, Charles Scott, Dennis Wuycik, Tommy LaGarde and Eric Montross, all of whose jerseys hang in the Smith Center rafters for their exploits on the court. National Players of the Year Eleven Tar Heels have won National Player of the 11 Year honors, including consensus winners Phil Ford (1978), Michael Jordan (1984), Antawn Jamison (1998) and Tyler Hansbrough (2008). Other winners include Jack Cobb (1926), George Glamack (1940 and 1941), Lennie Rosenbluth (1957), James Worthy (1982), Kenny Smith (1987), Jerry Stackhouse (1995) and Sean May (2005). Jordan, named by eight organizations as a junior, also was The Sporting News' pick as a sophomore in 1983. ACC 50th Anniversary Team The Tar Heels placed 12 players on the ACC 12 1 50th Anniversary Team, more than any other school. Carolina's honorees included Lennie Rosenbluth, Billy Cunningham, Larry Miller, Charles Scott, Bobby Jones, Walter Davis, Phil Ford, James Worthy, Sam Perkins, Michael Jordan, Brad Daugherty and Antawn Jamison. Jeffrey Camarati

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of 2011-12 North Carolina Men's Basketball Yearbook - 2011-12 North Carolina Basketball Yearbook