Varsity - The Official Digital Magazine of Wisconsin Athletics

Varsity - March 14, 2013

Varsity is the free Official Digital Magazine of Wisconsin Athletics, covering Badgers football, basketball, hockey and more each week.

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 47 of 62

INSIDE MEN'S BASKETBALL BY PATRICK HERB @BadgerMBB SCHEDULE (21-10, 12-6) Last Week March 7 at #10 Michigan St.L, 43-58 March 10 at Penn State W, 63-60 This Week Friday Mich./Penn State 1:30 p.m. Saturday Big Ten Tournament TBA Sunday Big Ten Tournament TBA Up Next Mar. 19-24 NCAA Rounds 1-3 Sweet Home Chicago: UW invades Windy City Big Ten tournament returns to United Center W ith its win at Penn State on Sunday and Indiana's victory over Michigan, Wisconsin kept alive one of the most impressive streaks in Big Ten history. For the 12th-straight year – every season under Bo Ryan – the Badgers finished in the top four in the Big Ten and earned a first-round bye 48 » VARSITY MAR CH 14, 2013 in the conference tournament. Under Ryan, UW has never finished lower than fourth in the Big Ten standings, a 12-year streak that is the second-longest in league history and the longest since Purdue had a 13-year run end in 1932. The Badgers will now head to Chicago, as the Big Ten TBA tournament returns to the Windy City for the first time in six years. UW, which has a strong following in the Chicago area, has played consistently strong in the last two Big Ten tournaments held at the United Center, appearing in the finals in both 2005 and 2007. The tournament will also serve as a homecoming for four Badgers who have ties to the Chicago area. Dan Fahey, Ben Brust, Frank Kaminsky and George Marshall all hail from the Land of Lincoln. UW trio earns Big Ten honors »Jared Berggren was named consensus second-team All-Big Ten, while also taking home All-Defensive Team honors. Ben Brust earned consensus honorable mention All-Big Ten honors while Sam Dekker took home All-Freshman team recognition and honorable mention All-Big Ten honors. Elite status » Only Gene Keady (7) and Bob Knight (5) have won the Big Ten's Coach of the Year award more than this year's recipient, Bo Ryan (3).

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Varsity - The Official Digital Magazine of Wisconsin Athletics - Varsity - March 14, 2013